A Message from the Directors

Welcome to the Center for Circadian Biology (CCB), an Organized Research Unit (ORU) at UCSD. Like other ORUs on our campus, the CCB serves to bring together faculty with diverse expertise to work together in a shared area of research. more...


Molecular Clock Mechanism

Susan Golden

Susan Golden
E-mail: sgolden@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Circadian rhythms
in cyanobacteria

Satchin Panda

Satchidananda Panda (Satchin)
E-mail: panda@salk.edu
Lab Members
Melanopsin-based circadian
entrainment

Stuart Brody

Stuart Brody
E-mail: sbrody@ucsd.edu
Metabolism and circadian
rhythms in Neurospora

Jose Pruneda-Paz

Jose L. Pruneda Paz
E-mail: jprunedapaz@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Regulation of plant defense responses

Joanne Chory

Joanne Chory
E-mail: chory@salk.edu
Lab Members
Regulation of plant growth
and flowering

Gurol Suel

Gurol Suel
E-mail: gsuel@ucsd.edu
Molecular and cellular interactions
in microbial systems

Ronald Evans

Ronald Evans
E-mail: evans@salk.edu
Lab Members
Circadian links to hormone
receptors and metabolism


Oscillator Networks

David Welsh

David Welsh
E-mail: welshdk@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Circadian rhythms in
single mammalian cells

Terence Hwa

Terence Hwa (Terry)
E-mail: thwa@ucsd.edu
Genetic circuits and
metabolic control

William Bechtel

William Bechtel
E-mail: wbechtel@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Philosophy and history
of science

Nikolai Rulkov

Nikolai Rulkov
E-mail: nrulkov@ucsd.edu
Oscillations and synchronization
in neurobiological networks

Jeff Hasty

Jeff Hasty
E-mail: jhasty@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Synthetic gene networks
in microorganisms

Lev Tsimring

Lev Tsimring
E-mail: ltsimring@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Spatio-temporal dynamics of
biological networks and circuits


Metabolism & Physiology

Jeff Elliott

Jeff Elliott
E-mail: jelliott@ucsd.edu
Circadian and photic regulation of
behavior and melatonin

Atul Malhotra

Atul Malhotra
E-mail: amalhotra@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Sleep apnea pathogenesis and pathophysiology

Mark Ellisman

Mark Ellisman
E-mail: mhellisman@ucsd.edu
Neurobiological and clinical research

Pamela Mellon

Pamela Mellon
Lab Members
E-mail: pmellon@ucsd.edu
Rhythms in mammalian reproduction

Michael Gorman

Michael Gorman
E-mail: mgorman@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Photoperiodism in
mammalian clocks

Marc Montminy

Marc Montminy
E-mail: montminy@salk.edu
CREB signaling and the clock

Alexander Kauffman

Alexander Kauffman
E-mail: akauffman@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Circadian and seasonal regulation
of reproduction

Dody Sears

Dorothy D. Sears
E-mail: dsears@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Eating behaviors, obesity & chronic disease risk

Katja Lamia

Katja Lamia
E-mail: klamia@scripps.edu
Lab Members
Circadian rhythms and metabolism
in mammals

 


Sleep, Mood & Behavior

Sonia Ancoli-Israel

Sonia Ancoli-Israel
E-mail: sancoliisrael@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Sleep and circadian rhythms
in chronic illness

Donald Macleod

Donald MacLeod
E-mail: dmacleod@ucsd.edu
How we see: Neural mechanisms in retina or brain

Paula Desplats

Paula Desplats
E-mail: pdesplat@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Epigenetic regulation of circadian
clock genes in dementia

Michael McCarthy

Michael McCarthy
E-mail: mmccarthy@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Circadian clock abnormalities
in psychiatric disorders

Davide Dulcis

Davide Dulcis
Email: ddulcis@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Activity-dependent neurotransmitter plasticity

Caroline Nievergelt

Caroline Nievergelt
E-mail: cnievergelt@ucsd.edu
Role of circadian genes in
human sleep & mood disorders

Ralph Greenspan

Ralph Greenspan
E-mail: rgreenspan@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Sleep and circadian rhythms in
Drosophila and Paramecium

Robert Owens

Robert Owens
E-mail: rowens@ucsd.edu
Sleep apnea and lung disease,
Sleep and delirium in ICU

Andy Huberman

Andy Huberman
E-mail: ahuberman@ucsd.edu
Circadian and sleep related
neural circuits

Barbara Parry

Barbara Parry
E-mail: bparry@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Chronobiology of
mood disorders in women

William Joiner

William Joiner
E-mail: wjoiner@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Sleep and anesthesia
sensitivity in Drosophila

Timothy Rickard

Timothy Rickard
E-mail: trickard@ucsd.edu
Lab Members
Effects of circadian rhythms
and sleep on learning

John Kelsoe

John Kelsoe
E-mail: jkelsoe@ucsd.edu
Circadian Clock Genes in
Bipolar Disorder

Terry Sejnowski

Terry Sejnowski
E-mail: tsejnowski@ucsd.edu
Thalamocortical rhythms

Dan Kripke

Daniel Kripke
E-mail: dkripke@ucsd.edu
Bright light treatment and
human circadian genes

Nick Spitzer

Nick Spitzer
E-mail: nspitzer@ucsd.edu
Neurotransmitter respecification
and behavior


Affiliate Members

Todd Holmes

Todd C. Holmes
E-mail: tholmes@uci.edu
Neural circuits and behavior;
circadian and visual circuits

Carrie Partch

Carrie Partch
E-mail: cpartch@ucsc.edu
Lab Members
Structural and mechanistic studies
of mammalian clock proteins

Andy Liwang

Andy LiWang
E-mail: aliwang@ucmerced.edu
Lab Members
Circadian mechanisms
in cyanobacteria

 Sara Mednick

Sara Mednick
E-mail: sara.mednick@ucr.edu
Lab Members
Role of sleep in human
memory consolidation


Executive Committee

Executive Committee Memebers

Left to Right: Satchin Panda, Michael Gorman, Katja Lamia, Michael McCarthy, Susan Golden, David Welsh, Sonia Ancoli-Israel, Stu Brody, and Erica Schoeller


External Advisory Board

Gene Block

Gene Block
Chancellor of UCLA and Professor of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences

Mike Young

Michael Young
VP for Academic Affairs, The Rockefeller University and Professor in the Laboratory of Genetics

Steve Kay

Steve Kay
Professor of Cell and Molecular Biology, and Provost Professor of Neurology, Biomedical Engineering and Biological Sciences, USC

David White

David P. White
Professor of Medicine, Part Time, Harvard Medical School. Chief Medical Consultant Philips Respironics

Marge Moline

Margaret Moline
Senior Director, Neurosicence and General Medicine at Eisai

Phyllis Zee

Phyllis Zee
Associate Director, Center for Sleep and Circadian Biology and Professor, Northwestern University Institute for Neuroscience

Joseph Takahashi

Joseph Takahashi
Loyd B. Sands Distinguished Chair in Neuroscience, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center


Administration

Terry Peters

Terry Peters
Business Manager

Pattie Magallanez

Pattie Magallanez
Administrative Specialist