UC San Diego SearchMenu

Contact Us

Center for Chronobiology (CCB)

University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive MC 0116
La Jolla, CA 92093-0116

Administration

Terry Peters
Business Manager
Center for Chronobiology, UCSD
Office: AP&M 2856
Mail code: 0116
Office hours: Mon-Fri 11:30am - 3:30pm
Voice: (858) 534-7753
Fax: (858) 534-7108
E-mail: tpeters@ucsd.edu

Pattie Magallanez
Administrative Specialist
Center for Chronobiology, UCSD
Office: AP&M 2832
Mail code: 0116
Office hours: Mon-Fri 6:00am - 2:00pm
Voice: (858) 534-4409
Fax: (858) 534-7108
E-mail: pattiemag@ucsd.edu

Director

Susan Golden
Distinguished Professor
Division of Biological Sciences, UCSD
Office: AP&M 4824
Lab: AP&M 4721
Mail code: 0116
Voice: (858) 246-0658
Fax: (858) 534-7108
E-mail: sgolden@ucsd.edu
Website

Associate Director

David Welsh
Assistant Professor
Department of Psychiatry, UCSD
Office: BSB, 2061
Mail code: 0603
Voice: (858) 246-0894
E-mail: welshdk@ucsd.edu
Website

Founding Director

Stuart Brody
Professor
Division of Biological Sciences, UCSD
Office: AP&M 4802
Mail code: 0116
Voice: (858) 534-2619
Fax: (858) 534-7108
E-mail: sbrody@ucsd.edu
Website

CCB Members

Ancoli-Israel, Sonia
Department of Psychiatry, UCSD
Office: SCRB/SOM Rm 149
Mail code: 0733
Voice: (858) 642-3882
E-mail: sancoliisrael@ucsd.edu
Website

Bechtel, William
Department of Philosophy, UCSD
Office: H&SS, 8076
Mail code: 0119
Voice: (858) 822-4461
E-mail: wbechtel@ucsd.edu
Website

Chory, Joanne
Salk and Division of Biological Sciences, UCSD
Office: The Salk Institute
Mail code: 0932
Voice: (858) 453-4100, ext. 1690
E-mail: chory@salk.edu
Website

Desplats, Paula
Department of Neurosciences
Office:  Medical Teaching Facility, Room 344
Mail code: 0624
Voice: (858) 822-3182
E-mail: pdesplat@ucsd.edu
Website (under construction)

Drummond, Sean
Department of Psychiatry, UCSD
Office: VAMC (SD), BLDG 13
Mail code: 9151B
Voice: (858) 642-1274
E-mail: drummond@ucsd.edu
Website

Elliott, Jeff
Department of Psychiatry, UCSD
Office: McGill Hall
Mail code: 0109
Voice: (858) 699-2145
E-mail: jelliott@ucsd.edu

Evans, Ronald
Salk and Division of Biological Sciences, UCSD
Office: The Salk Institute
Mail code: 0932
Voice: (858) 453-4100, ext.1302
E-mail: evans@salk.edu
Website

Gorman, Michael
Department of Psychology, UCSD
Office: McGill Hall, 5133
Mail code: 0109
Voice: (858) 822-2466
E-mail: mgorman@ucsd.edu
Website

Greenspan, Ralph
Kavli Institute for Brain & Mind, UCSD
Office: AP&M, 1862
Mail code: 0526
Voice: (858) 822-7657
E-mail: rgreenspan@ucsd.edu
Website

Hasty, Jeff
Division of Biological Sciences and Department of Bioengineering, UCSD
Office: Bonner, 2121A
Mail code: 0368
Voice: (858) 822-3442
E-mail: jhasty@ucsd.edu
Website

Huberman, Andy
Neurosciences and Division of Biological Sciences, UCSD
Office: Pacific Hall, Room 1216
Mail Code:0366
Voice: (858) 534-4740
E-mail: ahuberman@ucsd.edu
Website

Hwa, Terence (Terry)
Department of Physics, UCSD
Office: Urey, 7246
Mail code: 0374
Voice: (858) 534-7263
E-mail: thwa@ucsd.edu
Website

Joiner, William
Department of Pharmacology, UCSD
Office: BSB, 3082
Mail code: 0636
Voice: (858) 534-3375
E-mail: wjoiner@ucsd.edu
Website

Kauffman, Alexander (Sasha)
Department of Reproductive Medicine, UCSD
Office: Leichtag, 3A15
Mail code: 0674
Voice: (858) 246-0219
E-mail: akauffman@ucsd.edu
Website

Kelsoe, John
Department of Psychiatry, UCSD
Office: BSB, 2082
Mail code: 0603
Voice: (858) 534-5927
E-mail: jkelsoe@ucsd.edu
Website

Kripke, Daniel
Department of Psychiatry, UCSD
Office: 8950 VLJ Dr., Room A203
Mail code: 0667
Voice: (858) 534-7131
E-mail: dkripke@ucsd.edu
Website

Lamia, Katja
Department of Chemical Physiology and
Department of Molecular and Experimental Medicine
Office: The Scripps Research Institute, Rm MB219
Voice: (858) 784-7056
E-mail: klamia@scripps.edu
Website

LiWang, Andy
Quantitative and Systems Biology Graduate Group, UC Merced
Office: Castle Room 36
Merced, CA 95343
Voice: (209) 228-4617
E-mail: aliwang@ucmerced.edu
Website

Malhotra, Atul
Department of Medicine, Pulmonary & Critical Care, UCSD
Office: East Campus Ofc Building, Room 2-039
Mail code: 7381
Voice: (858) 657-6485
E-mail: amalhotra@ucsd.edu
Website

McCarthy, Michael
Department of Psychiatry, UCSD
Veterans Affairs San Diego Healthcare System, UCSD
Office: 3350 La Jolla Village Drive, San Diego, CA 92161
Voice: (858) 642-1520
E-mail: mmccarthy@ucsd.edu
Website

Mednick, Sara
Department of Psychology, UC Riverside
Office: 21111A Psychology Building
Riverside, CA 92521
Voice: (951) 827-5259
E-mail: sara.mednick@ucr.edu
Website

Mellon, Pamela
Department of Reproductive Medicine, UCSD
Office: Leichtag, 3A14
Mail code: 0674
Voice: (858) 534-1312
E-mail: pmellon@ucsd.edu
Website

Montminy, Marc
Salk and Division of Biological Sciences, UCSD
Office: The Salk Institute
Mail code: 0932
Voice: (858) 453-4100, ext. 1394
E-mail: montminy@salk.edu
Website

Nievergelt, Caroline
Department of Psychiatry, UCSD
Office: Skaggs School of Pharmacy 4254
Mail code: 0838
Voice: (858) 534-2567
E-mail: cnievergelt@ucsd.edu
Website

Panda, Satchidananda (Satchin)
Salk and Division of Biological Sciences, UCSD
Office: The Salk Institute
Mail code: 0932
Voice: (858) 453-4100 ext. 1912
E-mail: panda@salk.edu
Website

Parry, Barbara
Department of Psychiatry, UCSD
Office: CTF-A, 418
Mail code: 0804
Voice: (858) 543-5592
E-mail: bparry@ucsd.edu
Website

Partch, Carrie
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, UC Santa Cruz
Office: Physical Sciences Building, Room 246
Voice: (831) 459-3905
E-mail: cpartch@ucsc.edu
Website

Pruneda-Paz, Jose
Division of Biological Sciences, UCSD
Office: AP&M 4872
Mail code: 0116
Voice: (858) 534-8323
E-mail: jprunedapaz@ucsd.edu
Website

Rickard, Timothy
Department of Psychology, UCSD
Office: McGill Hall, 2560
Mail code: 0109
Voice: (858) 822-0122
E-mail: trickard@ucsd.edu
Website

Rulkov, Nikolai
BioCircuits Institute, UCSD
Office: SERF, 369
Mail code: 0402
Voice: (858) 822-2011
E-mail: nrulkov@ucsd.edu
Website

Sejnowski, Terry
Salk, Division of Biological Sciences, and
Computer Science & Engineering, UCSD
Office: The Salk Institute
Mail code: 0932
Voice: (858) 453-4100 ext. 1611
E-mail: tsejnowski@ucsd.edu
Website

Spitzer, Nick
Neurobiology, and Division of Biological Sciences and UCSD
Office: Pacific Hall, 3222A
Mail code: 0357
Voice: (858) 534-2456
E-mail: nspitzer@ucsd.edu
Website

Tsimring, Lev
BioCircuits Institute, UCSD
Office: Urey, 1206
Mail code: 0328
Voice: (858) 534-0816
E-mail: ltsimring@ucsd.edu
Website

Lab Members

Abrahamsen, Adele
Department of Philosophy (Division of Arts and Humanities)
E-mail: adele@crl.ucsd.edu

Applebee, Kenyon
Kavli Institute for Brain & Mind
E-mail: mapplebe@ucsd.edu

Atwood, Ann
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: ann.atwood@gmail.com

Baumgartner, Bridget
BioCircuits Institute (BCI)
E-mail: bbaumgartner@bioeng.ucsd.edu

Beesley, Stephen
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: sbeesley@ucsd.edu

Bonaldi, Katia
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: kbonaldi@ucsd.edu

Bordowitz, Juliana
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: jbordowitz@ucsd.edu

Brayman, Melissa
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: mbrayman@ucsd.edu

Breen-Church, Kellie
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: kbchurch@ucsd.edu

Burnston, Daniel
Department of Philosophy (Division of Arts and Humanities)
E-mail: dburnsto@ucsd.edu

Campos, Manuel
UCSD, VA Healthcare System, Sleep Lab
E-mail: macampos@ucsd.edu

Cerimele, Kristal

Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: kcerimele@ucsd.edu

Chaix, Amandine
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: achaix@salk.edu

Chen, Jason
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
E-mail: jac040@ucsd.edu

Chow, Brenda
USC - Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: brendayc@usc.edu

Clark, Daniel
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: dan@ucsd.edu

Cohen, Lee
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: lcohen@ucsd.edu

Cohen, Susan
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: susanc@ucsd.edu

Cookson, Natalie
BioCircuits Institute (BCI)
E-mail: Natalie.A.Cookson@gmail.com

Cronin, Peter
Department of Neuroscience
E-mail: pcronin@ucsd.edu

Dhamija, Sangeeta
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: sdhamija@ucsd.edu

Diamond, Spencer
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: sdiamond@ucsd.edu

DiTacchio, Luciano
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
E-mail: luciano@salk.edu

Doherty, Colleen
NC State University - Biochemistry
E-mail: colleen_doherty@ncsu.edu

Dunn, Erin
Departments of Chemical Physiology,
and Molecular and Experimental Medicine
E-mail: edunn@scripps.edu

Fernandes, Malcom
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: m9fernan@ucsd.edu

Ferry, Mike
BioCircuits Institute (BCI)
E-mail: msferry@ucsd.edu

Gendron, Joshua
Yale University - Molecular, Cell & Dev Biology
E-mail:joshua.gendron@yale.edu

Gill, Shubhroz
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
E-mail: gill@salk.edu

Gitis, Paula
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: paula.gitis@gmail.com

Glickman, Gena
Department of Psychology (Division of Social Sciences)
E-mail: glickman@ucsd.edu

Glidewell-Kenney, Christine
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: cgkenney@ucsd.edu

Harrison, Elizabeth

Department of Psychology (Division of Social Sciences)
E-mail: emharrison@ucsd.edu

Hatori, Megumi
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
E-mail: mhatori@salk.edu

Helfer, Anne
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: annem.helfer@gmail.com

Hirota, Tsuyoshi
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: thirota@ucsd.edu

Hoffman, Hanne
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: hmhoffmann@ucsd.edu

Huang, Polly
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: p3huang@ucsd.edu

Jordan, Sabine
Departments of Chemical Physiology,
and Molecular and Experimental Medicine
E-mail: sjordan@scripps.edu

Jun, Darae
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: dajun@ucsd.edu

Kang, Earl
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: s7kang@ucsd.edu

Katsuki, Takeo

Kavli Institute for Brain & Mind
E-mail: tkatsuki@ucsd.edu

Keding, Sheena
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
E-mail: keding@salk.edu

Khan, Azim
Department of Psychology & Reproductive Medicine
E-mail: arkhan@ucsd.edu

Kim, Joshua
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: jok002@ucsd.edu

Kim, Yong-Ick
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: yik002@ucsd.edu

Kochman, David
Department of Pharmacology (School of Medicine)
E-mail: dakochma@ucsd.edu

Kolmos, Elsebeth
USC - Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: kolmos@usc.edu

Kolnik, Martin
Department of Bioengineering
E-mail: martin.kolnik@gmail.com

Le, Hiep
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
E-mail: le@salk.edu

Leming, Sunamita
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: sleming@ucsd.edu

Lestelle, Antonette
USC - Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: alestell@usc.edu

Liu, Lianqi
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: lqliu@ucsd.edu

Lopez, Ana
Department of Surgery
E-mail: amlopez@ucsd.edu

Luke, Joyce
Department of Bioengineering
E-mail: joyceluke@gmail.com

Lyasch, Gary
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: glyasch@ucsd.edu

Maglione, Jeanne
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: jmaglione@ucsd.edu

Martinez, Luis Fernando
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: lfmartinez@ucsd.edu

Mather, Will
BioCircuits Institute (BCI)
E-mail: wmather@ucsd.edu

McDevitt, Elizabeth
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: emcdevitt@ucsd.edu

McKenna, Ben
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: bmckenna@ucsd.edu

Meadows, Jason
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: jdmeadows@ucsd.edu

Meliska, Charles
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: cmeliska@ucsd.edu

Mondragon, Octavio
Department of Bioengineering
E-mail: omondrag@ucsd.edu

Mure, Ludovic
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
E-mail: lmure@salk.edu

Nagel, Dawn
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: dnagel@ucsd.edu

Natarajan, Loki
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: lnatarajan@ucsd.edu

Neikrug, Ariel

Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: aneikrug@ucsd.edu

Noguchi, Takako

Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: tnoguchi@ucsd.edu

Nusinow, Dmitri
Danforth Plant Science Center
E-mail: DNusinow@danforthcenter.org

Orff, Henry
Neuropsych/Diag Res
E-mail: horff@ucsd.edu

Papp, Stephanie
Departments of Chemical Physiology,
and Molecular and Experimental Medicine
E-mail: sjpapp@scripps.edu

Poling, Matthew
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: mpoling@ucsd.edu

Pongsawakul, Pagkapol
Division of Biological Sciences and Salk Institute
E-mail: pagkapol@gmail.com

Prindle, Arthur
Department of Bioengineering
E-mail: abprindle@gmail.com

Raiewski, Evan

Department of Psychology (Division of Social Sciences)
E-mail: eraiewski@ucsd.edu

Razinkov, Ivan

Department of Bioengineering
E-mail: irazinkov@gmail.com

Robinson, Jim
Department of Pharmacology (School of Medicine)
E-mail: jerobins@ucsd.edu

Ruiz, Suzette
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: marzette_11@hotmail.com

Seidner, Glen

Department of Pharmacology (School of Medicine)
E-mail: gseidner@ucsd.edu

Selimkhanov, Jangir
Department of Bioengineering
E-mail: jangir.selimkhanov@gmail.com

Semaan, Sheila
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: ssemaan@ucsd.edu

Sheredos, Benjamin
Department of Philosophy (Division of Arts and Humanities)
E-mail: bsheredo@ucsd.edu

Shultzaberger, Ryan
Kavli Institute for Brain & Mind
E-mail: rshultzaberger@ucsd.edu

Simkovsky, Ryan
Division of Biological Science
E-mail: rsimkovsky@ucsd.edu

Sinning, Susan
Department of Psychology (Division of Social Sciences)
E-mail: ssinning@ucsd.edu

Sonntag, Tim
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
E-mail: tsonntag@salk.edu

Sorenson, Diane
Department of Psychiatry (School of Medicine)
E-mail: dsorenson@ucsd.edu

Taylor, Brooks

Department of Bioengineering
E-mail: b4taylor@ucsd.edu

Ting, Andrewston
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: compunicate@gmail.co

Tong, Minh
Kavli Institute for Brain & Mind
E-mail: mqtong@ucsd.edu

Trial, Blake
Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: btrial@ucsd.edu

Wagner, Jenee
Kavli Institute for Brain & Mind
E-mail: wagner@nsi.edu

Wang, Susanna
USC - Division of Biological Sciences
E-mail: susannsw@usc.edu

Wu, Meilin
Department of Pharmacology (School of Medicine)
E-mail: meilin@ucsd.edu

Xie, Huimin
Department of Reproductive Medicine (School of Medicine)
E-mail: huxie@ucsd.edu

Zarrinpar, Amir

Salk Institute for Biological Studies
E-mail: azarrinp@ucsd.edu

External Advisory Board

Block, Gene
Website

Hoffmann, Alexander
Website

Kay, Steve
Website

Moline, Margaret
Website

Takahashi, Joseph
Website

Young, Michael
Website

Zee, Phyllis
Website

Webmaster

Pattie Magallanez
Center for Chronobiology, UCSD
Email: pattiemag@ucsd.edu

Acknowledgements

Anthony Daulo
Designer of CCB website

Zoe Blaylock

Jennifer Feng

Postdoctoral Inquiry

The UCSD Research Fellowship in Biological Psychiatry and Neuroscience is a 2-year training program for research-oriented psychiatrists, psychologists, and basic neuroscientists. For research opportunities in specific CCB labs, please contact individual CCB principal investigators.

Predoctoral Inquiry

The CCB is an organized research unit that does not grant degrees. Our members have appointments in diverse departments and divisions on campus that offer predoctoral programs, and students whose research focuses on chronobiology may participate in the CCB regardless of their departmental affiliation. For more information on graduate programs in your area of interest, consult the following links.

Department of Psychiatry
Department of Philosophy
Division of Biological Sciences
Skaggs School of Pharmacy
Department of Psychology
Department of Bioengineering
Department of Physics
UCSD prospective graduate student information