UC San Diego's Center for Circadian Biology will host its 13th Annual Circadian Biology Symposium to be held (in-person) at the Scripps Seaside Forum.


We have invited a select, stellar group of chronobiologists from around the country and beyond, and a few local colleagues, to speak at this symposium. Each year, the symposium attracts leaders in the field, with active participation from our 56 PIs within the CCB. We welcome and encourage registrants from your research personnel, other institutions, and industry.


Click here for symposium flyer
Click here for sponsorship information

The aims of the conference are to:

  1. Provide participants with a comprehensive view of modern circadian biology.
  2. Exchange a broad spectrum of ideas and techniques in circadian biology.
  3. Promote interactions among the faculty and lab personnel of UC San Diego, Circadian Biology Center, the invited speakers, and other participants.
  4. Further acquaint the speakers, their groups, and other registrants with the depth and breadth of circadian biology research conducted at UC San Diego.

Confirmed Speakers

Victoria Acosta-Rodriguez (UT Southwestern Medical Center)

Paula Desplats (UC San Diego)

Antony Dodd (The John Innes Centre)

Colleen Doherty (North Carolina State University)

Philip Gehrman (University of Pennsylvania)

Michael Grandner (University of Arizona Health Sciences)

Lauren Hablitz (University of Rochester Medical Center)

Todd Holmes (UC Irvine)

Jennifer Hurley (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)

Matt Kayser (University of Pennsylvania)

Atul Malhotra (UC San Diego)

Jennifer Martin (UCLA)

Padmini Rangamani (UC San Diego)

Mary Teruel (Cornell University)

Elizabeth Villa (UC San Diego)

Carlos Zarate (NIH)

Phyllis Zee (Northwestern Medicine)



Schedule coming soon


Registration is coming soon



Sponsorship Information - An exciting event and opportunity

The 13th Annual Symposium, hosted by the Center for Circadian Biology (CCB), at UC San Diego, Bringing together over 150 attendees for this 3-day event.

The symposium features an unparalleled breadth and depth of leading-edge research and groundbreaking biological timing discoveries in plants, animals and humans, and spans molecular biology to clinical applications. By sponsoring, you will join the Who’s Who in circadian research in this exciting venture and help us invent the future.

To become a sponsor or learn more, please contact:

Pattie Stoughton -

Ana Minvielle -



Click here for sponsorship information

Organizing Committee:

  • Susan Golden (CCB Director, Molecular Biology, UC San Diego)
  • Amir Zarrinpar (CCB Associate Director, Gastroenterology, UC San Diego)
  • Sonia Ancoli-Israel (Psychiatry, UC San Diego)
  • Stu Brody (Molecular Biology, UC San Diego)
  • William Joiner (Pharmacology, UC San Diego)
  • Katja Lamia (Scripps Research)
  • Atul Malhotra (Pulmonary, Critical Care & Sleep Medicine, UC San Diego)
  • Michael McCarthy (Psychiatry, UC San Diego)
  • Satchin Panda (Salk Institute)
  • Jose Pruneda-Paz (Cell and Developmental Biology, UC San Diego)
  • Dorothy Sears (Endocrinology & Metabolism, UC San Diego)
  • Benjamin Smarr (Bioengineering, UC San Diego)
  • Karen Tonsfeldt (Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences, UC San Diego)
  • David Welsh (Psychiatry, UC San Diego)
  • Joydeep De (CCB Public Outreach Fellow, Pharmacology, UC San Diego)

For additional information, please contact:

Pattie Stoughton
Research Administrator
Center for Circadian Biology (CCB)
University of California, San Diego


Many thanks to our generous sponsors of 2023