External Advisory Board

External Advisory Board

Left to Right: Margaret Moline, Gene Block, Phyllis Zee, David White, Joseph Takahashi, Not pictured: Steve Kay and Michael Young.

  • Gene Block

    Gene Block

    Chancellor of UCLA and Professor of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences in the David Geffen School of Medicine and in Physiological Science in the College of Letters and Science, UCLA

    Chancellor Block's research has focused on the neurobiology of circadian rhythms, specifically the neural mechanisms by which organisms adjust sleep and wakefulness to the day and night cycle. Most recently, he has examined the effects of aging on the biological clock. From 1991 to 2002, he directed the National Science Foundation's Science and Technology Center in Biological Timing at the University of Virginia.

  • Steve Kay

    Steve Kay

    Professor of Cell and Molecular Biology, and Provost Professor of Neurology, Biomedical Engineering and Biological Sciences, USC

    Professor Kay was recently appointed to lead the USC Michelson Center for Convergent Bioscience. Professor Kay's research studies the composition and architecture of complex regulatory networks in plants and animals. As a paradigm, we have chosen to focus on circadian rhythms given their central role in regulating physiology and behavior in almost all organisms.


  • Margaret Moline

    Margaret Moline

    Senior Director, Neuroscience and General Medicine at Eisai

    Dr. Moline is the International Project Team Leader for a novel dual orexin receptor antagonist under investigation for the treatment of insomnia disorder.  In this capacity, she is responsible for the overall global clinical development program for the compound. Before joining Eisai, she conducted research on sleep and biological rhythms, especially for jet lag and in women with mood disorders, and was the Director of the Sleep-Wake Disorders Center at New York Weill-Cornell Medical Center, Department of Psychiatry.

  • Joseph Takahashi

    Joseph Takahashi

    Loyd B. Sands Distinguished Chair in Neuroscience, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

    The long-term goals of the Takahashi laboratory are to understand the molecular and genetic basis of circadian rhythms in mammals and to utilize forward genetic approaches in the mouse as a tool for gene discovery for complex behavior. His lab is a world leader in the identification of circadian clock genes and assignment of their function in the molecular mechanism of the circadian system.

  • Michael Young

    Michael Young

    Vice President for Academic Affairs and Richard and Jeanne Fisher Professor in the Laboratory of Genetics, The Rockefeller University

    Vice President Young is interested in how interactions among certain genes and their proteins set up a network of molecular oscillations that are autonomously generated in most tissues and that establish overt rhythms in physiology and behavior. His lab's findings have implications for sleep and mood disorders as well as dysfunctions related to the timing of gene activities underlying visual functions, locomotion, metabolism, learning and memory.

  • David P. White

    David P. White

    Professor of Medicine, Part Time, Harvard Medical School. Chief Scientific Officer, Philips Sleep & Respiratory Care

    Professors White’s research has addressed the pathophysiology of disorders of breathing during sleep, primarily obstructive sleep apnea. Of late this research has focused on understanding and measurement of a variety of phenotypic traits that contribute to the development of this disorder and how these traits can be manipulated to treat sleep apnea. He has also, for the last 10 years, worked with a number of companies to evolve products to diagnose and treat a variety of sleep disorders.

  • Phyllis Zee

    Phyllis Zee

    Director of the Center for Circadian and Sleep Medicine, Benjamin and Virginia Boshes and Professor of Neurology, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

    Professor Zee's research focuses on how aging alters the circadian clock system of mammals and its relationship to circadian rhythm and sleep disorders in humans. Her laboratory performs basic research with animals as well as clinical research with humans. Studies involve examination of the neurochemical events that underlie aging of the circadian clock. A variety of pharmacological approaches are used to restore the responsiveness of the circadian system to light.